Are There Gluten Free Protein Powder Supplements?

Gluten is a protein found in certain grains, such as wheat, rye and barley. Although the protein gluten is safe for most individuals, those people with conditions like celiac disease or those with a sensitivity to gluten should avoid it to prevent the negative side effects to the health and wellbeing. But what is the best gluten free protein powder supplements for those people that need to supplement their diet with protein. First…

What is Gluten

Gluten is a substance present in cereal grains, especially wheat, that is responsible for the elastic texture of dough. A mixture of two proteins, it causes illness in people with celiac disease. Gluten is common in foods such as bread, pasta, pizza, cereal and rye. The protein gluten provides no real essential nutrients. People with celiac disease have an adverse immune reaction that is triggered by eating gluten protein.

Gluten Free Organic Protein Powder

Who doesn’t enjoy the occasional protein shake or smoothie with protein added? But with the adverse effects of a gluten sensitivity Premium high protein gluten free protein powder can be hard to come by. Most organic protein powders are made with whey protein. Pure whey protein powder is a dairy product and is a completely gluten free powder. However, commercially sold whey powders vary widely in what ingredients they contain, and some lower end varieties do contain traces of gluten.

Hundreds of Gluten Free Protein Powders Are Available

There are hundreds of different gluten free protein powders available in the marketplace. The majority of protein powders include whey, which is made from milk. Many gluten free protein powders contain soy protein or other vegetable-based proteins. Also, there are a number of protein powders also include casein, which is a protein you should avoid if you are following a gluten-free diet.

Is Glutamine in a Gluten Free Protein Powder Bad

Some protein powders include an ingredient listed as “glutamine.” This is not the same thing as gluten. Glutamine is an amino acid, not a protein from wheat, barley, or rye, and all of our bodies contain some glutamine. You don’t need to avoid products that include glutamine. So you can still enjoy gluten free protein shakes if the gluten free protein powder you use has glutamine as one of it’s trace ingredients.

Gluten Free Protein Powder List

Stay Gluten Free with the Best Gluten Free Protein

There’s no end all to be all gluten free protein powder that one would call the best. There are gluten free protein meal replacement bars if you are using a gluten free diet and you are looking for a secret to losing weight fast. If you get that craving for that gluten free protein shake, know that you’ll be ok by using a plant based or a premium whey protein powder minus casein.